ENFR

Atelier de formation PAC/COSOC-GL sur le monitoring et rapportage de la diligence raisonnable 16-20 Decembre 2016

L’initiative de mettre en place des chaînes d’approvisionnement de minéraux responsables, mise en œuvre par Partenariat Afrique Canada (PAC)  financé  par le gouvernement du Canada appui la COSOC-GL et ces membres afin d’améliorer la gouvernance des chaînes d’approvisionnement des minéraux de grande valeur et susceptibles de susciter des conflits, et à favoriser des voies commerciales légales dans la région des Grands Lacs. L’appui technique est fourni en renforçant les capacités de la société civile afin de promouvoir, surveiller et rapporter sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement responsable dans la région des Grands Lacs aux niveaux local, national et régional.  La société civile dans la région est déterminée à promouvoir un secteur de ressources naturelles responsable, mais l’assistance technique est encore nécessaire afin de mieux comprendre les besoins et exigences  des acteurs en aval de la chaine d’approvisionnement.  Notamment, les rapports ont tendance à être limités ou de nature ad hoc.

img_20161216_092501

Les membres de la société civile au cours des séances de formation

En gardant avec soi la diligence raisonnable de l’OCDE, le secteur privé doit évaluer les risques associés à sa chaine d’approvisionnement, réagir à tous risques identifiés et rapporter sur ces risques ainsi que les actions prises. Cependant, très peu d’informations sont disponibles quant à l’intégrité des chaînes d’approvisionnement dans la région des Grands Lacs.

L’appui technique à la société civile dans la région sera axé sur le monitoring mais aussi le rapportage sur la diligence raisonnable de la chaine d’approvisionnement en utilisant un modèle élaboré conjointement avec la société civile et l’industrie en avale et harmonisé avec l’OCDE/CIRGL. Il peut servir d’outil utile pour le secteur privé de même au moment que celui-ci mène ses responsabilités de la diligence raisonnable. Une capacité renforcée pour surveiller et rapporter selon les standards internationaux servira aussi l’objectif de renforcer la crédibilité et le profil des organisations de la société civile dans la région.

Cette formation est une première partie de l’appui technique du monitoring et rapportage de la diligence raisonnable. Les objectifs de l’atelier sont de fournir :

img_20161217_123445

Une des équipes de monitoring au cours de l’exercice à la mine d’Or de Mubende

Laisser un commentaire

Nom et prénom
Email

karafaizy(English) on07.02.17(English) wrote:

your engagement is still welcomed. you are among the ones who founded it

Prudence B.(English) on06.02.17(English) wrote:

Thanks for PAC for its important support to COSOC-GL. I hope all members will take advantage of such opportunities and will more effectively engage in substantial activities to achieve the objectives of the Coalition.

I wish I could one day engage myself, technically or scientifically in the fulfillment of the missions and objectives for which I contributed to the formulation.

Recherche

Bulletin

Souscrire pour les nouvelles:

Site interne

E-mail

Mot de passe

Contact

Av. Kalehe N 33 Commune d’IBANDA, Bukavu, R.D.C

+250 788 522 497
+243 998 625 895

ENFR

December 16-20 2016 PAC/COSOC-GL training workshop on monitoring and reporting on due diligence

The Building Responsible Mineral Supply Chains Initiative, implemented by Partnership Africa Canada (PAC)  and funded by the Government of Canada, is supporting COSOC-GL  and its members to improve the governance of supply chains for conflict-prone and high-value minerals and to promote legal trading routes in the Great Lakes Region. Technical support is being provided by increasing the capacity of civil society to promote, monitor and report on responsible mineral supply chains in the Great Lakes Region at regional, national and local levels. Civil society in-region is deeply committed to promoting a responsible natural resource sector, but technical assistance is still required in order for better understanding of downstream requirements and needs.  In particular, reporting tends to be minimal or ad hoc in nature.

img_20161216_092501

Civil society members at the training sessions

In keeping with the OECD Due Diligence (DD) Guidance, the private sector must assess risk in its supply chain, respond to any identified risks and report on the risk and corresponding action. However, little information is accessible about the integrity of supply chains in the Great Lakes Region.

Technical support to civil-society in-region will focus on monitoring but also reporting on supply chain due diligence using a template that is developed jointly with civil society and downstream industry and aligned with the OECD/ICGLR.  It can serve as a tool that is useful for the private sector as well when carrying out its due diligence responsibilities.  An enhanced capacity to monitor and report in accordance with international standards will also serve the purpose of enhancing the credibility and profile of in-region civil society organizations.

This training is the first part of the technical support for due diligence monitoring and reporting. The objectives of the workshop are to provide:

img_20161217_123445

One of the monitoring teams during the exercises at Mubende Gold mining site

Leave a comment

Name (required)
Email (required)

karafaizyon07.02.17wrote:

your engagement is still welcomed. you are among the ones who founded it

Prudence B.on06.02.17wrote:

Thanks for PAC for its important support to COSOC-GL. I hope all members will take advantage of such opportunities and will more effectively engage in substantial activities to achieve the objectives of the Coalition.

I wish I could one day engage myself, technically or scientifically in the fulfillment of the missions and objectives for which I contributed to the formulation.

Search for

Newsletter

Sign up for news updates:

Intranet

Email:

Password:

Contact

Av. Kalehe N 33 Commune d’IBANDA, Bukavu, R.D.C

+250 788 522 497
+243 998 625 895